Img_Header_Domain

The Domaine

A story of pioneers

The Clos des Vignes du Maynes was first recorded on cadastral maps by Burgundian monks. Its origin dates back to 910, the year Cluny Abbey was founded by the Duke of Aquitaine. The domaine was originally owned by the seigneurs of the Château of Cruzille, and then belonged to a farming family for five generations before being bought by Pierre and Jeanne Guillot in 1952. The vineyard has therefore never had any chemicals used on it and has always been farmed with the greatest respect for the earth. From the very outset, my grandfather decided to make wine organically, using no chemicals, herbicides, pesticides or sulphur. My father, Alain, later took over the domaine, keeping the same philosophy. He lectured at the agricultural college in Beaujeu, alongside Suzanne Michon, Xavier Florin, Claude and Lydia Bourguignon and Pierre Rabhi, and was particularly involved in the legislative aspects of organic agriculture. As President of the French national federation of organic agriculture (FNAB), he was responsible for getting the AB (agriculture biologique) organic logo and standards recognised by the then Minister of Agriculture, Philippe Vasseur. I joined the domaine in 1998, which is when I introduced the first biodynamic preparations. I then took over the domaine officially in 2001 and decided to convert the entire vineyard of seven hectares to biodynamic farming.

julien-team

Pearl

Pearl, 35, sees herself as a Canadian ‘hybrid’ with German and native Cree roots. She has worked at the domaine for four years. She is my right-hand woman: she spends half her time managing the cellar (racking and other wine-related tasks) and the other half working in the vineyard. Pearl is an expert in the Guyot Poussard pruning method, and she leads the team for the manual vineyard work. In her spare time, she loves to tango!

Sandrine

Sandrine, 38 and 100% Burgundian, joined us is 2015 and is responsible for all the administrative work. She loves her two kids and cooking for the family. She enjoys spending her Sunday afternoons on the side lines of the Rugby field cheering on her husband and son!

Julien

40 years old, Julien is in charge of tillage, treatments and biodynamic preparations. Previously a site manager in public works, he is an expert in Triathlon.

Caroline et Thibault

Caroline and Thibault, 36 and 37 respectively, undertake the ploughing, using their two magnificent Comtois horses, Sara and Quiqui.

Img_Header_Domain

LE DOMAINE

Une histoire de pionniers

Le Clos des Vignes du Maynes est inscrit dans la dynamique bourguignonne de cadastrage des parcelles par les moines. Son origine remonte à l’an 910, date de création de l’abbaye de Cluny par le Duc d’Aquitaine. Propriété des Seigneurs du Château de Cruzille, le domaine a ensuite appartenu à cinq générations de paysans avant d’être racheté en 1952 par Pierre et Jeanne Guillot. Le Clos n’a jamais connu la chimie et a toujours été cultivé dans le plus grand respect de la terre. Dès le début, mon grand père a décidé de faire vins en agriculture biologique, sans produit chimique, sans désherbant, sans insecticide et sans soufre. Mon père, Alain, a ensuite repris le domaine dans cette même philosophie. Intervenant à l’école de Beaujeu aux côtés de Susanne Michon, Xavier Florin, Claude et Lydia Bourguignon ou encore Pierre Rabhi, il fut très impliqué dans l’aspect législatif et, en tant que Président de la Fédération Nationale de l’Agriculture Biologique (FNAB), il a eu la responsabilité de faire signer à Philippe Vasseur, ministre de l’agriculture, la reconnaissance du logo AB ainsi que tous les cahiers des charges. Je rejoins le Clos en 1998 où j’introduis les premiers préparats biodynamiques. Je reprends officiellement le domaine en 2001 et décide de convertir l’ensemble des 7 hectares à ce mode de culture.

julien-team

Pearl

35 ans, elle se considère comme une « hybride » canadienne aux origines Cris (tribu indienne originaire des plaines de l’Ouest canadien et de l’Ontario) et allemandes, elle travaille au domaine depuis maintenant 4 ans. Véritable bras droit, elle est en charge à mi-temps de la cave (soutirages et autres manipulations des vins) et gère le reste du temps les travaux à la vigne. Experte en taille Guyot Poussard, elle encadre l’équipe lors de l’ébourgeonnage. A ses heures perdues, c’est une passionnée de Tango.

Sandrine

38 ans, 100% Bourguignonne, nous a rejoint en 2015 et s’occupe de toutes les tâches administratives. Elle adore ses deux enfants, la cuisine et est toujours fan de Friends et de Desperate Housewives. « Never underestimate a Housewife.».

Julien

40 ans, est en charge du travail des sols, des traitements et des préparations biodynamiques. Précédemment chef de chantier dans les travaux publics, c’est un expert en Triathlon.

Caroline et Thibault

36 et 37 ans, s’occupent du labour à cheval avec deux magnifiques Traits-Comtois (Sara et Quiqui). Ils sont également propriétaire du Mont Saint Romain, auberge plantée sur le point culminant du Mâconnais.